Experience, Improvement

Scared money don’t make money

10As the title suggests, scared money don’t make money.

I will be writing about a hand that I experienced recently.

My hand is 7 and 6 of clubs. The round starts by a player in mid position raising the bet to $13 pre-flop. After the action moves around the table, there are 5 total players in the hand.

The flop comes out 7Spades, 5Spades, 4Spades. Action begins and moves to the player who had raised pre-flop. He bets $15. When the action comes to me, I re-raise him $50, confident that no players made a pair on the board or have 2 spades in his hand completing a flush. I had a strong feeling everyone was chasing a flush with one spade in their hand or had overcards. The action moves to the player next to me and he re-raises it again to $150. The rest of the players fold and the action is on me to respond to the re-raise.

I tanked during this moment. I had to call $100 more just to see the turn. I had the top pair on the board (7s) but no spades. I also had a straight draw, which would be useless information later on. I had to figure out what hand he had.

Did he have 2 spades in his hand? This was the most crucial question I had to figure out. If he had a flush he had this round won and I should fold immediately. However, if he had two spades, they were BOTH low cards. This is because if another spade hits, his flush would then be out-kicked by a stronger flush and so he raised the bet even more to scare away players with one spade chasing a strong flush.

However, people generally don’t play low cards in pots that were raised pre-flop, like this one was. If he did somehow played this round with low cards, the chances of them both being the same suit as the flop were unlikely. I could be wrong, but I was willing to gamble he didn’t have 2 low spade cards.

This completed the first step. I didn’t have to automatically fold because he didn’t have a flush.

The next question arises: Did he make a pair or set on the field?

It’s possible to have a pair, but would he call the pre-flop raise of $13 if he had low cards like 7 5 4? In general, people don’t typically play low cards unless they are connectors, two consecutive cards. He could also have a pocket pair in his hand that is bigger than all those cards, which he would have called the pre-flop raise with. While these are all viable possibilities, there is a greater chance for him to have 2 high over-cards such as Ace-King.

It’s also possible to have a set. He would have easily called the pre-flop raise with pocket 7s, 5s, or 4s, in his hand. Him hitting a set on the flop and raising a high amount like that is possible. However, the chances of having high over-cards is still higher.

Knowing this, I finally shoved all-in, calling his $100 raise with another $200 behind. He called.

The turn came 3 of diamonds, completing a straight for me. The river came out a 5 of spades. He turned over his cards, revealing an Ace Spades and King Diamond, completing a flush for him.

I couldn’t believe that he had hit his flush. When he had called my all in on the flop, he had a 40% chance of winning. I was ahead yet I lost $300.

The reason I’m telling you this story is to emphasize the fact that scared money doesn’t make money. If you have the odds but don’t have the courage to risk all your chips like that, then you won’t make money in Poker.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

